New Yorkers for Better Libraries Announces Library Champions

New York’s Library Community Recognizes Lawmakers

Albany, September 22, 2016–  New Yorkers for Better Libraries, an important library advocacy organization in New York, announced today the recipients of the “Library Champion Award.”  This award is reserved for state legislators who advocate and stand up consistently in the interest of New York’s libraries.  The 2016 Library Champion Award winners are listed below:

Senator George Amedore, Jr.

Senator Hugh Farley
Senator John Flanagan
Senator Thomas O’Mara
Senator Patty Ritchie
Senator Jose Serrano

Senator Catherine Young

Assemblyman Thomas Abinanti

Assemblyman Kevin Cahill
Assemblywoman Patricia Fahy
Assemblyman Philip Palmesano
Assemblyman Joseph Saladino
Assemblywoman Michaelle Solages
Assemblyman Fred Thiele
Assemblyman Keith Wright“These lawmakers have shown exceptional leadership and commitment to New York’s libraries and I am proud to present the Library Champion Award to each of these deserving recipients,” said John Hammond, Chair of the New Yorkers for Better Libraries Steering Committee.  “These legislators provided the leadership and resolve libraries desperately need in Albany. Each honoree understands that libraries are a critical part of New York’s educational infrastructure and has worked hard to ensure that libraries receive the funding they need to provide lifelong learning opportunities for every New Yorker.  As an organization we are grateful to each of these members of the legislature and look forward to continuing our work together helping move New York forward for libraries and the communities they serve.”